Canon Mirrorless Camera

Hello RMSP community,

I am a documentary-style/portrait photographer by heart who is frequently traveling and on the go. I currently own a Canon 5D Mark IV which I know and love deeply, but it gets heavy and bulky to travel with… and honestly feels a little intimidating and sometimes encroaching to stick in someone’s face when I’m traveling and exploring new cultures. The idea of a lighter and smaller Canon mirrorless camera is very attractive to me… although I don’t know much about them yet, and don’t think I would currently be able to afford a mirrorless body as well as RF lenses. I know that I could use my current EF lenses on the mirrorless body with an adaptor, however, I worry that this would defeat the purpose of having something smaller and lighter… and might end up feeling a lot like what I already have. I would love to hear any feedback from those who have experience with Canon mirrorless cameras. Are they worth it? Are there any drawbacks to them vs. say a 5D Mark IV? Do you find that it is actually nicer weight-wise or for travel? Which model do you recommend? Etc. :relaxed:

Any tips or information is greatly appreciated.

Blessings!

2 Likes

Excellent questions. I have the same issue and the same questions, except that I am a Nikon user (D850). I very much like the D850 and the 2.8 28-70 mm lens I use most often, but it is really heavy. So is it worth 5K to switch just to get a lighter camera? One issue with Nikon (don’t know about Canon) is that the “kit” 28-70 f4 lens for the mirrorless camera is much lighter (and cheaper) than the “pro” 2.8 version. I really don’t care about the extra f stop, so it’s a trade off between image quality and weight. So is the f4 really that much lower grade in image quality than the 2.8? So if anyone has a response to Bethany’s question, I’d also be interested (with any added insights about Nikon you could throw in). Thanks.

Hey Bethany and James,