Recording audio for filmed acoustic music performances

I’m looking to film some acoustic music performances in outdoor settings with my DSLR, and I’m curious if this group has any recommendations on how to capture high quality audio in this type of scenario. Any thoughts?

Hi Tyson,

I have a lot of experience with this particular challenge - and it’s something I have a passion for — so, this isn’t a short “buy this and you’ll be happy” post. Sound is its own department and so while I’ll give you a cheaper choice - just like with photography, you get better results when you know what you’re doing than if you have your camera set on Auto, right? And an L-series lens will be sharper than a kit lens, right? So, same with sound - knowing how to capture the sound is paramount, using high quality equipment is tantamount to high quality photographic gear.

Audio can be simplified, but can also be a very complex world - and when you dive in, you’ll see that the prices for pro level audio gear rival what photographers are willing to pay for their camera and lenses! And rightly so - we can put up with a less-than-stellar visual in a video, but if the sound is awful, it’s an untenable experience. Sound is required for us to know what is going on in a narrative film/tv show. And it’s absolutely the most important thing in a musical performance. Frequently at concerts you’ll find me standing directly in front of the sound board - because that’s where the best sound is - that’s where they are mixing the room to! Usually the view up front is best, but the sound is the worst there! (comparatively)

There are less-expensive ways to get good, clean audio so let’s look at those here, too. But, like all things: you get what you pay for.

First, there are a few things to look at and consider before we dive into specific equipment.

1. Are you okay to see the microphone in your video?