Started Lens for Nikon D3400 People and Product Photography

Hi there, my name is Maranda and I shoot a Nikon D3400 with the zoom kit len’s it came with. I would love to upgrade to a new lens with a larger f-stop. I do marketing/social media for the brewery I work for and also have 2 kids. I am looking for recommendations on a good all around lens for product photography aka pints of beer, merch, growlers as well as portrait/everyday life with kiddos photography lens. Do you have any good recommendations for me? I am no pro, just like to play with my camera and want better shots. I did take the Intro to photography course with Quinn and learned a ton! Thanks for your time.

1 Like

Hi Maranda,

That’s awesome you are looking to get a new lens!

If you are looking for something with a larger f-stop that doesn’t break the bank, you’ll most likely need to stick to fixed lenses that don’t zoom. These commonly come in focal lengths of 24mm, 35mm, 50mm, 85mm, and 105mm.

So, I’m going to turn the question back to you. When you are shooting with your kit-lens what are you commonly zooming it to? The wider focal lengths (24mm), or something longer (50mm)?

Let me know and I’ll be able to recommend some specific lenses to think about upgrading to.

Hi Maranda! Welcome to the community!

The D3400 has a 1.5x crop factor - so, whatever lens you’d get, multiply the focal length by 1.5 to see what its full-frame equivalent would be. For example, for the type of work you are doing, and your lifestyle, I’d recommend a good 24-105 equivalent zoom lens. The Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 16-80mm f/2.8-4E ED VR Lens would be a good bet - as when you multiply 1.5 to 16 and 80 - you get 24-120, respectively. That would be a great zoom for both pics of your kids, as well as portraits (at the 80-120 range) and product shots (at the 50-120 range, depending). And it’s f/2.8-4, so it’s nice and fast. (f/2.8 at the widest, f/4 at 120mm)